Revisiting The Classics: Abraxas-Santana

Abraxas is the second studio album by Latin rock band Santana, released in September 1970.

The title of the album originates from a line in Hermann Hesse’s book, ‘Demian‘, quoted on the album’s back cover:

“We stood before it and began to freeze inside from the exertion. We questioned the painting, berated it, made love to it, prayed to it: We called it mother, called it whore and slut, called it our beloved, called it Abraxas….”

The album has gone 5Xs platinum in the United States, and 4Xs platinum in Canada.

Abraxas was deemed “culturally, historically, or artistically significant” by the Library of Congress and was selected for preservation in their National Recording Registry in 2016.

The single “Black Magic Woman” was written by Fleetwood Mac’s Peter Green, covered by Santana it became a top 10 hit. The song is sung by Greg Rollie-who later would be a member of Journey.  Rolie is a two-time inductee of the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame, for Santana in 1998, and Journey in 2017.

In 2003, the album was added to Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. The album was also included in the book ‘1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die’.

Join PodCloud1 during September, as we Revisit a Classic album in its entirety, Abraxas by Santana!


(click player to revisit a classic)



1. Singing Winds, Crying Beasts
2. Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen
3. Oye Como Va
4. Incident At Neshabur
5. Se A Cabo
6. Mother’s Daughter
7. Samba Pa Ti
8. Hope You’re Feeling Better
9. El Nicoya


A different album is featured every month on PodCloud1’s “Revisiting The Classics


Send Us Your Comments! (leave message below)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *